Passive House Award - Sub­mit your Pro­ject now!

Jan. 20, 2020

The Passive House Award will honour a variety of international projects - apply now until 01 June 2020!

If cli­mate change is to be mit­ig­ated, it is ne­ces­sary for thebuild­ings we live and work in to con­sume con­sid­er­ably less en­ergy. That is ex­actly what the Pass­ive House In­sti­tu­te will re­ward­with the Pass­ive House Award 2020.The ar­chi­tec­ture com­pet­i­tion will high­light that Pass­ive House build­ings are both sus­tain­able and aes­thet­ic­ally pleas­ing. "With the Pass­ive House Award we  wish to draw at­ten­tion to the fact that Pass­ive House build­ings act­ively con­trib­ute to cli­mate pro­tec­tion and that these are soph­ist­ic­atedly de­signed pro­jects. That's what we want to hon­our ar­chi­tects for," ex­plains Dr Wolfgang Feist, the founder of the Pass­ive House In­sti­tu­te.

Pass­ive House build­ings, LowEn­ergy build­ings, and build­ings that have been ret­ro­fit­ted to the En­erPHit stand­ard can be sub­mit­ted to the Pass­ive House Award 2020,  re­gard­less of the build­ing use. What   mat­ters, is that the build­ing­sare Pass­ive House cer­ti­fied. Large de­vel­op­ments and dis­tricts are also eli­gible for sub­mis­sion to the award, even if they have not yet been com­pleted. De­cis­ive is an in­teg­rated concept for the sup­ply of en­ergy with a fo­cus on the en­ergy ef­fi­ciency of the build­ings. Apre­re­quis­ite for large de­vel­op­ments and dis­tricts is that at  least one of the build­ings is already cer­ti­fied. The jury will pay par­tic­u­lar at­ten­tion to the in­teg­ra­tion of re­new­able en­ergy in the pro­jects.

The Pass­ive House In­sti­tu­te is the or­gan­iser of the 2020 Pass­ive House Award. An in­ter­na­tion­al jury will ex­am­ine the entries and judge them on cri­ter­ia such as design, cost-ef­fect­ive­ness, in­nov­a­tion, en­ergy sup­ply and sus­tain­ab­il­ity. The pan­el will con­sist of the ar­chi­tects Tom Wright from the UK, De­borah Moel­is from the USA and Ana Sánchez-Os­tiz from Spain as well as Burk­hard Schul­ze Dar­up from Ber­lin and Prof. Song Ye­hau from Chi­na.

The win­ners will be presen­ted at an awards ce­re­mony as part of the 24th Pass­ive House Con­fer­en­ce in Ber­lin.